80 1950 shot of plant

May 29, 2013 | by Harry Kyriakodis

The Callowhill Street Station looks somewhat shortened in this shot from the 1950 Annual Report of the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Philadelphia (1951). This may be because of the construction of Lower River Drive—now long gone—in the 1930s or so.The Callowhill Street Station looks somewhat shortened in this shot from the 1950 Annual Report of the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Philadelphia (1951). This may be because of the construction of Lower River Drive—now gone—in the 1930s or so.

About the Author

Harry Kyriakodis Harry Kyriakodis, author of Philadelphia's Lost Waterfront (2011), Northern Liberties: The Story of a Philadelphia River Ward (2012) and The Benjamin Franklin Parkway (2014), regularly gives walking tours and presentations on unique yet unappreciated parts of the city. A founding/certified member of the Association of Philadelphia Tour Guides, he is a graduate of La Salle University and Temple University School of Law, and was once an officer in the U.S. Army Field Artillery. He has collected what is likely the largest private collection of books about the City of Brotherly Love: over 2700 titles new and old.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *